Information Provided Courtesy of:

Paradise Title St. Augustine, LLC

2225 A1A S C-8

St. Augustine, FL 32080(904) 471-2553

The Florida Homestead Act

Any person who, on January 1, has the legal title or beneficial title in equity to real property in Florida and who in good faith makes the property his or her permanent residence or the permanent residence of another or others legally or naturally dependent upon him or her, is entitled to an exemption up to the assessed valuation of $25,000 on the residence and contiguous real property. Every person who qualifies to receive homestead exemption is entitled to receive up to an additional $25,000 homestead exemption for assessed values exceeding $50,000.

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION REQUIREMENTS

To claim homestead exemption, Florida law requires that you reside on the property as of January 1 and claim the property as your permanent legal residence. To apply for the homestead exemption, you must personally file a complete applicatiin with the Poperty Appraisers Office on or before March 1. March 1st is THE ABSOLUTE DEADLINE for filing.

Exemptions cannot be granted unless you file. Any change in property records (i.e, deed, quitclaim, court order, etc.) mandates a filing or refiling of homestead exemption. You must file to receive any exemption for which you are eligible. Application is NOT automatic or transferable from another property. You may file at any of the three Property Appraiser's office locatono. When filing, please bring the following proof of permanent residence (as per Florida Statue 196.015) with you:

  • Copy of property deed or tax bill for the property

  • Florida driver's license reflecting your homestead address

  • Original or certified copy of birth certificate or US Passport

  • Two utility bills with new address on it

  • If you are a married female, you have to bring the marriage certificate to show name change

  • Florida automobile registration

  • Florida Voter's registration at homestead address *

  • Social Security Card or W-2 or 1099 with Social Security Number on it

  • Mobile home registration if homestead property is a mobile home

  • Copy of beneficial use clause if property held in trust

  • Resident alien card for applicable filers

*If you do not wish to register to vote, you must provide a Declaration of Domicile that has been completed and recorded into the official records of St. Johns County for the homestead property.

DO NOT let the deadline pass you by. For further information regarding additional exemptions please call the Property Appraiser's office.  (904) 827-5500 or visit their Website

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Property Appraiser's Offices:

DUPONT CENTER

6658 US1 South 
St. Augustine. FL 32086
Phone: (904) 209-2250
Fax: (904) 209-2264 

MAIN OFFICE

4030 Lewis Speedway
St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone: (904) 209-2250
Fax: (904) 209-2283

PONTE VEDRA ANNEX

5430 Palm Valley Road
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Phone: (904) 209-2250
Fax: (904) 209-2262

JULINGTON CREEK ANNEX

725 Flora Branch Blvd
St. Johns, FL 32259
Phone: (904) 209-2250
Fax: (904) 209-2259